And then there were none

My 3 daughters went back to school this week. It’s a beautiful thing. It’s not that I don’t love them or want to be with them, it’s just that I’m a better mom when they aren’t here 24/7. Sad but true. When the school bus pulls away I take a deep breath and know that when they get home I’ll have more energy to be the mom they deserve.  A friend once said that by the end of the summer, the sound of her children fighting is like having a tiny woodpecker sitting on the back of her head pecking all day. That little pecker has camped out on my scalp!

Our house is small but I suspect that even if we lived in a McMansion, we’d all be in the same room anyway. We seem to follow each other around. I kick them outside but they always come back and let’s face it, there are only so many times you can go to the water park before even that starts to get a little boring. Summer is great because they got a much needed break from school and had some fun camps but I think school is a much needed break from each other. At the end of the day I’m happy to see them get off the bus and I like that side of me better. They’re in better moods and the evening goes much smoother than when we spend the entire day together. I have great admiration (if a complete lack of understanding) for home school parents but I know that I’ll never be one of them.

2 thoughts on “And then there were none

  1. You just said exactly what I feel about being home all summer with my kids!!! I love them, but good Lord, do we really need 3 full months of 24/7 togetherness??

    I once saw a bumper sticker that said “Raising kids is like being pecked to death by a chicken.”

    Most days, I’m pretty sure our household is occupied by about 100 angry chickens. On crack.

    Hooray for school!!

    (BTW, found you via Motherhood in NYC. She’s hilarious, no?)

Leave a Reply

