Put on Your Apron, It’s Time to Bake

Pumpkins, photographed in Canada.

Image via Wikipedia

I’m leaving town – for less than 4 days. You should see my “before I go check-list”.  Why do we, as moms, feel the need to do everything before we leave? Laundry, fridge full of food, house clean. Why can’t I just say, “fend for yourselves people!!”?

And why do I feel the need to bake before I go? Maybe it’s because I’m just so damned excited that the pumpkin shortage appears to be over. I found canned pumpkin at the store this week! YAY! You knew there was a pumpkin shortage right? I’m not the only baking dork out there? I am, aren’t I? I’m confirming the loser thing huh?

I don’t think I’ve mentioned that I tend to bake to relieve stress and/or compensate for everything else I suck at, like cleaning. I think my girls’ friends know my scan schedule by their lunches. They look forward to the sharing of treats on a quarterly basis. I also bake just before they come home from school/work so that it looks like I’ve accomplished something other than carpal tunnel syndrome.

I’m that mom who bakes excessively, it’s what I do. I suppose it was inevitable that I post a recipe to cover for my lack of creative topics.

I really do feel like you need to have this one though. It’s fall. It’s time  to eat pumpkin stuff. And cream cheese frosting. I guarantee you’ll love it. If you don’t, well, you must have made them wrong. So here ya go – run right out and get pumpkin just in case the end of the shortage is only an urban legend!

Pumpkin Bars

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or equal amounts ginger, cinnamon, cloves & nutmeg)

Sift together into large bowl and add:

  • 4 beaten eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup oil
  • 2 cups pumpkin

Mix well and pour into greased & floured large cookie sheet (mine is 12×17 with sides). Bake 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Cool completely then frost with cream cheese frosting:

Frosting

  • 3 ounces cream cheese – softened
  • 1 lb powdered sugar – or less if you want it less sweet ( taste as you go)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup butter – softened

Combine all ingredients and whip until creamy and smooth.

These are ridiculously easy and make tons so you can be the whole neighborhood’s favorite person! Enjoy!

 

4 thoughts on “Put on Your Apron, It’s Time to Bake

  1. You always put me to shame. Just as soon as we polish off the $4.99 Costco pumpkin pie in our fridge, I may just have to actually bake something for my family…

Leave a Reply

