Why Not Say Yes?

Yesterday I joked I’d lost my mind by agreeing to take D1 and a friend to the midnight release of Harry Potter on Thursday but I have to come clean. I’m as excited to see it as she is. I bought the tickets yesterday and didn’t even mind the $3.50 “special midnight pricing charge” on top of the usual ridiculous movie prices. I want to see it and I want to see it with her.

Even my mom who is usually pushing me to get extra sleep agreed that it was absolutely something I should do with her. The thing is, it’s so easy to say no. It’s a school night, I’m usually sick that time of night, it’s just too late, there’s an “arctic cold front with accumulating snow” coming about the time we’ll be standing in line….blah blah blah. There are a million and one excuses that we, as parents, come up with to say no.

But why not say yes? What’s really so bad about it? It’s a one time thing. We can do it together. I get to be the rockin’ cool mom who takes her kiddo to a midnight release on a school night! The memories and time together are priceless.

In life it’s so easy to say “we’ll do it next time”. But for our kids, this is the time that matters. I’m not taking her to the bar first, I’m not giving her uppers to help her stay awake – unless lemon heads count. I’m saying yes to something she really really wants (read that with the appropriate teenage drama).

The truth is, we might not get a next time. Nobody is guaranteed a next time. As much as I’ve hated when people have said that to me the last years – no less that several hundred times – it’s true. It’s true for all of us. Even you dear reader. I’ll say it again, there are no guarantees. Next time there may be bigger reasons than “it’s too late on a school night” that keep you from going.

When you think about it, is a little lost sleep really that big of a deal? Is one tired day at school the end of the world? She’s a great student and she’ll be wired all day just from the left over adrenalin. Sure she’ll probably crash when she gets home but that’s ok. Home is a great place to nap.

Will I be exhausted? Yes. Can I nap as soon as the kids leave for school? Yeah, I can. Is there a chance I’ll be up sick? Probably, but I can eat light and skip everything that might upset my stomach on Thursday. I’ve managed it before.

Can I ever replace those memories if I don’t take her? No, I can’t. 

Life is about enjoying it and unfortunately, sometimes it takes a cancer diagnosis to remind us. So here’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to let all of you borrow my diagnosis. You can give it back but use it to remind yourselves to just do it. Take your kids to a midnight movie opening, book release or something else that rarely comes along. Ask yourself  why you’re saying no to something they really want to do with you. The key words being with you.

Don’t miss out on a chance to make memories with your children while you can.  Trust me, it’ll be worth it!

6 thoughts on “Why Not Say Yes?

  1. How right you are! Perhaps because the ‘N’ is always on the tip of the tongue – it’s so easy to say No. Just say NO. Yes – takes alot of commitment even phonetically. Way to go Annie. Hope you and your daughter totally enjoy yourselves 😉

    • I need the reminder too so now I can go back and read it from time to time. The 1st thing I did was say no. Then the more I thought about it, the less I could come up with a valid reason why not.

Leave a Reply

