Old Man Winter Stopped by to Say Hi

Snowflake. Small microscope kept outdoors. Sna...

Image via Wikipedia

My girls are home from school today – what is this snow day they speak of???

It’s virtually unheard of in our neck of the woods!! Hell, I grew up not far from here in an even more mountainous area and I walked 50 miles to school in blizzards every day – uphill both ways. Ok maybe not, but did I graduate from high school without ever having a snow day.

And because the weather is too terrible for buses to run and small frostbitten children are a big concern, my two youngest are at the neighborhood park sledding. I’m a good mom like that.

What? They have snow clothes. They’re with a neighbor girl whose mom is a doctor. We can treat them as needed. I prescribe hot chocolate.

It’s like living in a snow globe today. One being shaken over and over, and over, by a small bratty child hopped up on cocoa. It’s blowing, it’s drifting, it’s flying off roof tops. It’s a view filled with small white tornadoes. It’s 5 degrees. It’s gorgeous!

The only problem is it’s screwing with our Thanksgiving travel plans. Emergency travel only? Does that include emergency cravings for turkey and mom’s sausage and sage stuffing? Or my one slice of pumpkin pie per year? I really only like pumpkin pie enough for the one slice but she’s also making cherry. With cherries from the neighbor’s tree. I may cry.

I like snow, love it in fact but not when it fucks with my access to pie. All I have in my freezer are sweet cherries. Not the same.

And so we wait. To see if the -35 wind chills are going to happen. To see if we really will have 10 additional inches of snow by the end of the day. To see if my parents will get the forecasted 10-20 inches. To see if the mountain passes are more impassable than passable.

And I guess I’ll start cooking, because in my heart I know we’re stuck in this snowglobe for a bit. There are worse places to be.

Leave a Reply

