I’m sure you’re asking yourself, am I dead or just lazy?

Well, hello.

Turns out it’s been a while since I’ve showed up here to write anything. At least that’s what I’ve been told. Some weeks just don’t lend themselves to blog posts. This apparently, has been on of them.

For the record, I can also be bad about emailing. I finally emailed an old friend last week and got this immediate response:

“Dammit girl, I emailed you months ago and you didn’t reply. You scared the bejesus out of me!!! Don’t do that again!”

Turns out, when I disappear for a bit, people think I’m dead.

So to reassure you all. This is where I’ve been and where I will be in case I don’t make it back before Monday:

Sunday – 2 soccer games (D1 and D3) at the same time plus a sick D2.
To make a things even more interesting, D1 has a pretty severe grass pollen allergy. Why she’d want to play soccer in the spring is beyond me but what do you do?

Anyway, Sunday I was at her game while SG was at D3’s game. D1 was playing goalie and doing great until right before the half when she started to slow down and a couple of balls got by her.  It wasn’t at all like her.

I’d brought along extra Motrin in case she got a headache from the pollen so I walked over to her at the half, tapped her on the shoulder, and asked if she needed one. She looked at me with the same gorgeous hazel eyes as her father and said:

“Mom, I can’t breathe” – and then she started to cry. Are there scarier words?

I freaked (on the inside) because I could see she wasn’t lying. Then she said:

“Everything is blurry and I can see lots of little lights.”

I looked at her coach and said, “we’re leaving” without leaving any room for arguing. We left her ball, her watch in her coaches pocket and who knows what else and got the hell out of there.

I considered taking her over to the ER since the field is next to the hospital (handy right?) but she said she could make it home. She sipped water until she got some of the pollen rinsed out of her throat but I was all ready with the epipen if needed. Not that we’ve ever used an epipen for grass pollen but I would have tried anything!

It’s kind of amazing though how calm on the outside when it comes to our kids. I know freaking out myself wouldn’t have done her any favors.

When I got her home, she actually ran into the wall coming in from the garage before I could grab her and help in her. It was bizarre! She’d never had a reaction like that from pollen. We think it’s because she was handling the ball so much then wiping her eyes and her face as well as pushing her hair out of her face.

She downed some Benadryl (she had Zyrtec before the game) then took a long hot shower to get every bit of pollen off her body and she was ok. I on the other hand, was an adrenaline hyped up mess. She’ll never play goalie again and I’m pushing her back to volleyball and swimming!!!!

On the other field, D3 had a great game and scored a couple of goals. Whew!

Monday – D2 was home sick. I got nothing done but I did beat her in Zooreka and we watched a million episodes of Wild Thornberries on Netflix.

Tuesday – See Monday

Wednesday – D2 back at school but I’d agreed to be a chaperone for their Forest Discovery days so that’s where I was and why I wasn’t here.

Today – I’m working through the 652 loads of laundry I neglected while I stared at D1 to  sure she was breathing and hung out with a sick D2.

Tomorrow – Solo day for D2’s band class so I’m watching that then doing my Friday volunteer time at D3’s class. THEN, I’m watching D1 at soccer practice with a new inhaler in hand.

Saturday – Farmer’s market then the spring dept. picnic for SG. There will be great locally brewed beer. That’s really the only important point.

SundayHappy Mother’s Day to all of you!! D2 will be in a parade in the morning to kick off the wildlife film festival in town then D3 has a soccer game. Thankfully, D1’s game is preempted by a rugby tournament on their fields! Oh, and my mom and dad are coming to town. Maybe I should clean before I drink on Saturday? Nah!

I thought someone once told me things would be less hectic once the girls got older?

She was a stinkin’ liar!

If somebody tells YOU that? Don’t believe them.

Oh hey, I have a HUGE secret. Want to hear it? No?? Ok, nevermind.

4 thoughts on “I’m sure you’re asking yourself, am I dead or just lazy?

  1. Geez, D1’s episode sounds pretty scary to me and I wasn’t even there.
    I know what you mean about blogging – sometimes that pesky thing called life gets in the way of the writing you are ‘supposed’ to be doing. I’m also terrible about keeping in touch with friends – I’m having to put it on my list of ‘things to do’ just to make sure I do. When they have been friends for 20 years or so you dont realise a month or two or three has gone past without contact.

    lastly I think you are a very mean person for that tantalising last sentence. Now I’ll be wondering all day what your secret is LOL

  2. I also say, “Happy Mothers Day.” And I’m convinced that these crazy schedules at least make teenage drivers sound somewhat appealing in some weird way. Scary about the allergy reaction. Yikes.

Leave a Reply

