Out of practice

Well wow – I have a chance to write this morning. Two of my girls are at a sleepover, one is at speed & strength camp – a conditioning camp for athletes – and SG is at work. The big dog is asleep in her bed and the little one is crunching loudly on her food.

There is nothing I have to do right now except drink my coffee and type. Funny thing though, I’m not sure what to say.

This summer has been the busiest one yet. I always thought once the girls got older, they’d need me a little less and would just sort of overnight, have the ability to entertain themselves. Hmmmm, that kind of didn’t happen.  Instead the number of rides they need to places has increased exponentially.

I suspect that’s so I’ll actually look forward to D1 taking driver’s ed? So I’ll put all that stress aside and say “Yay, your sister will drop you off at soccer camp.”

Speaking of camp, D3 just finished up a week with the UK Elite soccer coaches. Funny how young guys with Scottish accents made her sisters suddenly want to go with me to pick her everyday. Even the 10 yr old.

Also funny how it was the only camp where the moms showed up bright and early well dressed with fresh combed hair and make-up. Usually the moms, at least at drop off in the summer, tend  more towards the hats, sunglasses and all natural look.

Not so much when our children are greeted with a rich Scottish brogue.

The nannies were also not immune. I overheard one young girl tell Coach Ross that she was “just the babysitter” several times within a span of a few minutes. What is it about a man with an accent? Sorry SG. Your southern thing is cute too.

Our girls are also asking if maybe dad could do a year sabbatical in Scotland? “Please mom?!” Even the oldest is willing to give up a year of high school to travel. This is the girl who moved so many times when she was little that the sight of a U-Haul makes her break out in hives.

Times, they are a changin’. I blame boys.

Hmm, looks like maybe I found something to say after all. Sorry it’s neither brilliant nor witty but I’m a little out of practice.

Oh and by the way, the dogs love each other! Good news right? The bad news? The puppy discovered the hamster. So far it’s safely in it’s cage but that could change.

ps. Thanks for all the nice comments on the dream post. I meant to reply to all of you but I think I was in a bit of a mood. Shocking right? Anyway, thanks!

6 thoughts on “Out of practice

  1. I had a boyfriend with a thick Scottish accent. During a two year period, I understood about 1/3 of what he said but it made him even more adorable!

  2. Ha – that is hilarious. I do love a man with a good British, Scottish, etc. accent.

    We had the keep our hamster (now deceased – old age) in another room behind closed doors because the cat kept giving him the “get in my belly” look.

  3. Wow – this brought back all the memories of my brother’s HOT Scottish (or were they Irish? Australian?) soccer coaches. I was the “sibling soccer mom” constantly shuttling everyone everywhere, but that, I didn’t mind one bit.

Leave a Reply

