Wow – Can you believe he still likes me?

Eighteen years ago today I married my best friend. It was the best decision I’ve ever made – or talked him into making.

I double checked this morning to make sure he doesn’t regret it and he says he’s still good with it. That makes me happy. He makes me happy!

When I was young and couldn’t get a date, I never imagined I’d be married, let alone that it would go this well.

I assumed I’d be alone – that I wouldn’t be able to find someone who would love me enough to want to spend his life with me. That might be because I’d dated an asshole who had told me pretty much that same thing and I believed him. But I don’t know – it just seemed to out of the realm of possibilities.

To have a marriage like my parents, who would rather be together than anywhere else, seemed unreachable.

But I was wrong. This shy handsome man walked into my life just as I had given up on dating, and he stayed.

For that, on this day and every other, I am grateful.

4 thoughts on “Wow – Can you believe he still likes me?

Leave a Reply

